Research Excellence Awards 2023

Medical professionals with the sign Research Excellence Awards 2023


The Research Excellence Awards recognise innovation in clinical research that has made a contribution to improving health, changing practice or advancing healthcare science at Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust.

Explaining the importance of the awards, Professor Stephen Ryder, Clinical Co-Director of Research & Innovation said: "Research Excellence Awards celebrate the achievements of research staff and inspire all of us to achieve excellence in everything we do."

Congratulations to our 2023 Winners

Table of award winners



Runner Up

Highly commended

Altruism Award

Helen Navarra, Children’s Research Delivery Team

Rebecca Bolton, Surgery Delivery Team

Nadia Frowd, Research & Innovation

Research Excellence Award

Neurology Research Team

Rachael Taylor, Medicine Division

NUH Radiology Team (MIDI Study), Clinical Support Division

Sunflower Trial Team, Surgery Division

Surgery Research Delivery Team

Research Partnership Award

Hearing Theme, NIHR Nottingham Biomedical Research Centre

Research Communications Team, Research & Innovation

Kelly O’Reilly, Research & Innovation

Research Excellence Impact Award

Gita Rana, Surgery Delivery Team

Professor Nikola Sprigg, Medicine Division


Early Career Researcher

Dr Sudarsana De, Family Health Division

Paul Bateman, Hearing Theme, NIHR Nottingham Biomedical Research Centre

Izabela Popis, NIHR Nottingham Biomedical Research Centre

Joy Agbonmwandolor, Research Rapid Response Team


Aimee Hibbert, Surgery Research Delivery Team

People’s Research Award

Grace Quinn, Research Volunteer

Maksymilian Palamar, Research Volunteer

Ehsun Waseem, Research Volunteer


Directors’ Awards

Dr Neil Guha, Professor of Hepatology, University of Nottingham

National Centre for Lymphangioleiomyomatosis (LAM), Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust