Introduction to Spinal Services

The Centre for Spinal Studies and Surgery (CSSS) is based within the Queen’s Medical Centre of Nottingham University Hospitals (NUH) NHS Trust. NUH is a large university hospital trust, the regional Major Trauma Centre, and a tertiary referral unit for all aspects of complex spinal pathology.

The CSSS comprises the spinal ward (D8), our same-day emergency care unit (NSAU), specialist spinal theatres and the spinal outpatients department. This unit is led by Spines Specialty Management Team consisting of: matron, specialty general manager, Lead Physiotherapist and consultant head of service. All of our consultants exclusively perform spinal surgery and have a background in either orthopaedic surgery or neurosurgery.

As a multi-disciplinary team, the CSSS provides expert spinal care for rare and highly complex spinal conditions in both adult and paediatric services. Each of the spinal consultants has an area of special interest such as paediatric spinal deformity, adult spinal deformity, neuromuscular deformity, degenerative conditions of the spine, spinal oncology and primary bone tumours, spinal osteoporosis and spinal trauma.

Contact spinal services

NSAU (adjoining Ward D8)

D Floor, West Block


Spinal Outpatients (adjoining clinic 2)

B Floor, West Block

Queens Medical Centre
Derby Road


Dedicated Spine School Contact, Luci Tarpey:

We appreciate and encourage feedback. If you need advice or are concerned about any aspect of care or treatment please speak to a member of staff or contact Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) | NUH

Switchboard: 0115 849 3367

  • ext 81005 - Bev Beeson
    (Speciality PA to Mr Tsegaye and Mr Shafafy)
  • ext 81024 - Rachael Blow
    (Waiting List Coordinator to Mr Patel)
  • ext 85484 - Chanice Burton
    (Speciality PA to Mr Quraishi & Mr Yoon)
  • ext 85160 - Shamell Cable
    (Speciality PA to Extended Scope Practitioners)
  • ext 81013 - Dr Donna-Marie Urbanowicz
    (Speciality PA to Mr Salem, Mr D'Aquino, AOSpines & Fellows Co-Ordinator)
  • ext 85485 - Laura Hallam
    (Speciality PA to Mr. Patel, Mr. Paskou, Mr. Shah & Associate Spinal Specialists)
  • ext 82410 - Lynette Leek
    (Waiting List Coordinator to  Mr Salem & Mr D'Aquino)
  • ext 81273 - Angela Cocking
    (Waiting List Coordinator to Mr Quraishi & Mr Tsegaye)
  • ext 88469 - Christine Pickard
    (Waiting List Coordinator to Mr Shafafy & Mr Yoon)
  • Julie Russell-Laing - Support Secretary
  • Kelly Hoare - Support Secretary

Can you help us improve our website?

Please help us to improve the Nottingham University Hospitals website by filling in this short six question survey.

Complete the website survey

*If you have filled in this survey, press the X in the top right corner