Team NUH Annual Awards 2023


Awards Finalists

Our Team NUH Awards programme, now in its third year, recognises and celebrates the hard work, commitment and ambition of staff members and volunteers who are nominated for our awards throughout the year by colleagues and patients/family members.    

Following three quarterly rounds held in 2023, where winning and highly commended awards in eight categories were presented within our hospitals, it's now time for our annual awards, where an overall winner in each of our categories, as well as our Volunteer of the Year, will be announced at our annual awards ceremony taking place on Thursday 12 October. 

We are delighted to confirm this year's finalists, and recognise staff who received highly commended awards this year. 

Trust Award



Annabel Kane Duty Matron
Dr Nik Mahida Consultant Medical Microbiologist
Ernesto Marongiu Ward Caterer 
Karen Calladine Staff Nurse
Noor Faridah Ahmad Farid Foundation Year 1 Doctor
Shairashree Kumaran Foundation Year 1 Doctor
The Food Service Team Leaders - City Hospital  

Highly Commended 

Kirstie Williams Gynae Oncology Clinical Nurse Specialist
Lucas Leite Fonseca Physiotherapy Team Leader
Charlotte Mabbott Maternity Support Worker
Coral Herrod Ultrasound Admin Supervisor
Hannah Chatterjee Therapy Services Manager
Melissa Kennedy Specialist Clinical Pharmacist

Empower Award



Asha Samuel Senior Staff Nurse
Crue James Deputy Matron
David Stringer Team Leader EENT Theatres 
Jayne Kennie Physiotherapist 
Kathryn Manning and Laura Hardwick Lung Disease Nurse Specialists
Kemi Adeleye Staff Nurse
Laura Doherty Ward Manager, Critical Care 
Paul Chenery Quality, Training and Transformation Manager
Ward D35 Nurses and Clinical Support Workers  

Highly Commended 

Laura Appleton Clinical Educator 
Louise Bell Patient Pathway Administrator
Daniella Wainwright Deputy Service Manager
Vivian Ashby Healthcare Assistant 
Amanda Richardson Ward Manager
Rebecca Boulton Clinical Research Manager

Ambitious Award



Andrew Batchelder Consultant Vascular Surgeon
Clare Llewellyn Practice Development Matron
Fiona McLoughlin Occupational Therapy Improvement Lead
Johanna Harbour and Zoe Billyeald Secondary Breast Cancer Clinical Nurse Specialists
Megan Dawes Arts Coordinator
Paul Chenery  Quality, Training and Transformation Manager
The Cataract Surgery Team  
The Frailty Admission and Discharge Unit Leadership Team    
The QMC Painting Team   

Highly Commended 

Emma Walker Deputy Sister, Acute Medicine 
Michelle Beazer Triage Midwife
The Children's MRI Team  
Ward F19 Team  
Shirley Tench Specialist Mental Health Practitioner
Joanne Colegate Training Team Leader 

Mindful Award



Helen Marsh and Dawn Gutteridge Cardiac Rehab Sister and Cardiac Rehab Nurse
Imogen Burgess and Teresa McDonnell Associate Practitioner and Higher Specialist Medical Laboratory Assistant
Kelly Clarke  Clinical Phlebotomy Manager
Lisa Abbs Practice Development Lead, Workforce, Recruitment and Retention
Lynn Cresswell Surgery Capacity and Flow Team Leader
Maria Dowd Deputy Service Manager 
Nicki Kendall Ward Administrator
The Patient Advice and Liaison Service (PALS) Team  
Tracy Dawn Duty Matron

Highly Commended 

Stephanie Hodgson Medicine Management Technician
Steven Smith Porter 
Bel Nicholson Midwife Coordinator
Ceinwyn Hogarth Midwife
Ayleen Haywood Prehab Team Lead
Bronwyn Stevens  Theatre Support Worker

Nurturing Award



Alana Singh Practice Development Lead, Wider Workforce
Ambar Hussain Apprentice Administration Assistant
Carol Rogers Deputy Service Manager 
David Lynch Groundsperson
Dr Sarah Khan Consultant Medical Oncologist
Jackie Gandy Professional Midwifery Advocate and Labour Suite Coordinator
Karen King Advanced Nurse Practitioner
Lauren Hodgetts  Advanced Practitioner Occupational Therapist
Tom Lappin Assistant Head of Facilities

Highly Commended 

Kate Johnson Staff Nurse, Clinical Educator
Liavel Vargas Institute Practice Development Lead
Henna Akhtar  Institute Practice Educator 
Mohammad Hawari Consultant Thoracic Surgeon
Joanne Daniels Clinical Specialist Dietitian
Lisa Flint Surgery Directorate Lead Practitioner

United Award



Frances Jagger Ward Manager 
Gail Taylor Discharge Coordinator
Marie Henson-Edwards Medical Examiners Officer
Paula Charlton EFM Hub Manager
Penny Kemp Divisional Finance Manager 
The Jubilee Unit Team   
The Medical Physics MRI Team   
The Paediatric Intensive Care Unit (PICU) Team   
The QMC Patient Movement Services Team  

Highly Commended 

Amber Copeland Alcohol Care Team Coordinator
The Maxillofacial Outpatient Team  
Graham Woulds Floor Store Coordinator
Hayley Brocklehurst Therapy Support Worker
Alis Ergen Interpreter
Mike Shelvey EUC Team Leader 

Honest Award



Alec McEwan  Consultant Foetal and Maternal Medicine
Hannah Chatterjee Therapy Services Manager 
Sophie Thompson Medical PA

Highly Commended 

Claudia Brown Clinic Coordinator
Lynette Leek Waiting List Coordinator
Shairashree Kumaran Foundation Year 1 Doctor

Public Award



Eleanor Mackmin Midwife 
Ellie Hobbs Physiotherapy Advanced Practitioner, Spinal
Euan David  Clinical Support Worker
Ian Petransky Speciality Trainee Neonates
Kamal Manek Spinal Practitioner
Michael Horne Senior Youth Worker 
The Motor Neurone Disease (MND) Team  
The Paediatric Gastroenterology Team  
The QMC Stoma Team   

Highly Commended 

Denise Travers Staff Nurse
Gina Salerno Maternity Support Worker 
Alex Campbell Midwife
Jamie Johnson Clinical Specialist - Physiotherapy
Jisha Vargheese Staff Nurse 

Volunteer of the Year Award



Alan Charlton
Geoff Buck
Joanne Leape 
Linda Roucroft
Maria Griffin
Steven Coulby