NUHonours Awards showcasing the very best of the NHS | Latest news

NUHonours Awards showcasing the very best of the NHS

Nottingham’s hospital heroes were celebrated this evening at a special award ceremony championing the very best of the NHS. More than 400 Nottingham University Hospitals NHS Trust (NUH) attendees turned out for the annual NUHonours Awards, which recognise the incredible contributions of staff, volunteers and community partners across Queen’s Medical Centre, City Hospital and Ropewalk House.

The prestigious awards were handed out in 19 categories celebrating NUH staff and supporters, ranging from Team of the Year, to Inspiring Staff Wellbeing and Community Champion awards. Our volunteers were also recognised with their own category and a special award was announced to mark the 70th birthday of the NHS. The winner of the NHS70 Award, chosen by Trust Chair Eric Morton, will also have the honour of having a Nottingham City Transport bus renamed in their honour.


Tracy Taylor, Chief Executive at NUH, said: “Very many congratulations to the record-breaking 1,110 staff, patients and fundraisers who were nominated this year, and to our shortlist and winners who have been recognised for delivering outstanding care to our patients and for their dedication to NUH.

“I would also like to thank to our fantastic Nottingham Hospitals Charity and to our individual awards sponsors for making this memorable evening possible. It is important to say ‘thank you’ to the brilliant Team NUH for all they do throughout the year for our patients, their families and carers. I truly am proud to be part of Team NUH.”

Photos from the evening can be viewed here

Held at the East Midlands Conference Centre at the University of Nottingham, the ceremony was hosted by Nottingham Post editor Mike Sassi and was being held for the twelfth year in succession. The annual NUHonours awards were made possible thanks to the support of Nottingham Hospitals Charity and to sponsors who contributed to the evening’s showcase.

The 2018 NUHonours winners are:

Apprentice of the Year Award, sponsored by J Tomlinson: Leila Howard

Best Use of Time and Resources Award, sponsored by InHealth: Louise Maddison

Caring and Helpful Award: Hui Sian Tay

Clinical Star Award: Julian McGlashan

Community Champion Award: Black & Green Ball

Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Award: BAME Council

Fundraiser of the Year Award: Children’s X-Ray Team and the Radiology Rollers

Inspiring Staff Wellbeing Award, sponsored by Extravaganza: Couch to 5k Run Leader Team

Leader of the Year Award, sponsored by NHS Professionals: Laura Mitchell

Patient Safety Champion Award, sponsored by Medstrom Healthcare: Harjinder Dhillon

Quality Improvement Award, sponsored by Browne Jacobson: Colorectal Surgery Team

Research and Innovation Award, sponsored by Nottingham Trent University: Rachel Gomez

Rising Star Award, sponsored by Cooper Parry Wealth: Jennifer Simmons

Team of the Year Award (TeamNUH), sponsored by Jigsaw24: Defence Medical Welfare Service - Welfare Officers

Trainee of the Year Award: Rozeena Garner

Training and Development Award: Emma Cross

Unsung Hero Award, sponsored by Nibble n Often: Anita Laskowski

Volunteer of the Year Award, sponsored by The League of Friends of the QMC: Mickey Lewis

Chair’s Award (NHS70), sponsored by Nottingham City Transport: Deborah Spence


Add a response »

No comments yet: why not be the first to contribute?